My sister is a vegetarian.

Good for her.  No really.  It’s her choice.  I mean, it definitely wouldn’t be my choice of diet.  Personally, I would walk across broken glass barefoot to get to a piece of bacon.  But if it’s what she wants then I have no problem with it.  However, I do have an issue with the air of superiority that she speaks with when discussing her eating habits.

One night this summer during a lovely dinner my pops finally asked her what reason she had for her choice of diet.  Her response, “Well actually, there are a few.”

She then proceeded to give us an itemized list of reasons why she chose her diet which included:

1. It’s healthier 2. Meat companies are corrupt 3. It’s less expensive

(deep breath)

Ok, this blog (like myself) is pretty laid back, and I don’t like to criticize or even cause trouble of any kind, but I just can’t let this one slide.  If you choose to be a vegetarian, then good for you.  I’m not trying to start something here.  I’m certain you have your reasons and I’m not about to tell you not to be a vegetarian.  But I am about to tell you why my sister’s reasons don’t really hold up.

Here is a photo I took recently:

Here’s another of her:

What’s the point of these pictures?  To prove that it isn’t necessarily healthier.  If she were baking asparagus cupcakes or making a beansprout sundae then I wouldn’t have even bothered to write this post.  But she’s not.  She’s making cookies, cupcakes, and ice cream sundaes using butter, sugar, oil, chocolate, almond bark, ice cream, etc.  Thus proving that being a vegetarian is only healthier if you make the healthier choices.  Ice cream and cupcakes aren’t those choices.

As far as the meat companies go…my sister is basing her judgement off of one documentary.  Some of you might be familiar with this particular documentary about food (hint: inc.).  I do agree with certain parts of the documentary, but you also have to remember that half of that story was about how a certain seed company was pretty much an evil empire (seeds=vegetables).

Bottom line, grow diversified crops of your own and buy local, reputable meat.  Problem solved.

The 3rd reason she listed was that “it’s less expensive.”  Is it?  Is it really?  I can get a McChicken for $1.00.  A head of radicchio cost around $5.50.  This of course gets complicated when you tie reason #3 in with reason #1 because clearly the McChicken is going to lean towards the calorie-dense end of the spectrum whilst the radicchio leans towards the nutrient-dense, but there are plenty of other examples.  For instance, though she isn’t a vegan she chooses to drink soy milk which is $5.40.  My good ol’ abused cow milk is only $2.

All I’m saying is that I wouldn’t have had nearly as big of a problem with any of these reasons if she had changed the wording just slightly.  The addition of the words “can be” changes my feelings about everything.  It can be healthier, meat companies can be corrupt, etc.  Simple fix.  However, that’s not what she said, and so I’m not about to let her forget it.

…Still No Job

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

