Today I ate a cicada.

As you might have heard, I’m intrigued by cicadas.  I can’t help but be curious about a bug that only surfaces once every 13 years, but I’m not a big fan of them or the noise they make.  I’m ready for them to go away and I’m prepared to do my part to see it happen.  My sister sent me a text with a simple question, “you want a chocolate covered cicada?”  My response was equally succinct, “yup”.

Someone she worked with had actually taken the time to catch a bunch of these bugs, boil them, remove their wings (apparently they don’t taste good), and cover them in chocolate.

Some of you might be saying, “Well Joe, how are we supposed to know that’s a cicada? It could just be a chocolate covered peanut.”  Good question.  It’s called trust.  Moving on…

So it turns out that cicadas are high in protein, low in fat, and contain no carbs–talk about a great meal!  Well, that’s before you cover them in chocolate, but I doubt I would have been able to stomach one of these things if I hadn’t been able to imagine it was just a peanut.  But I figured if not now I’d have to wait until the 17 year cicadas come up 2015.

Next stop, Fear Factor!

To answer what I’m sure is the first question on folk’s minds–it tasted like chocolate.  The only difference was a slight aftertaste, but altogether not bad.

Oh, yea.  Well, this face wasn’t made because of the taste.  It was made because of the texture, which was something like…exactly what you would expect a boiled, chocolate covered bug to feel like.  In a word: exactlywhatyouwouldexpectaboiledchocolatecoveredbugtofeellike.

…Still No Job

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

